Lavender Graduation

Join us in celebrating our amazing graduates, scholarship recipients, and award winners.

Lavender Graduation celebrates the accomplishments and achievements of gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, queer and ally undergraduate and graduate students. Colleges and universities across the United States participate in celebrations like this, and have celebrated Lav Grad (as it is affectionately known) for the last 15 years. Please join us in celebrating our graduates, scholarship recipients, and annual award winners.

Lavender Graduation will not be held in-person this year, but we still look forward to celebrating remotely! Keep an eye on our newsletter and social media to learn about our Virtual Lavender Graduation Video Premier on April 24th!

Hey graduates!

Check out the Lavender Graduation Video down below!

If you have any questions, please contact Maggie Hendrickson at

Pride Resource Center Awards

Recognized annually at Lavender Graduation

Sascha J. Franzel Ally Award- 2020 Recipient: Ash Powers
This award celebrates a student who has exemplified what it means to be an ally to the gay, lesbian, bisexual, queer, and transgender (GLBTQ+) communities. This person expands their own knowledge of the history, struggles, and goals of the GLBTQ+ communities, but they also nurture the understanding of others. In their day-to-day lives, they practice inclusive language and activism that counter heterosexist and transphobic attitudes, prejudice, and behaviors through educating others. Nominees must have at least a 2.0 cumulative GPA.

Rainbow Inspiration Award - 2020 Recipient: George Guardado
This award recognizes a CSU faculty or staff member based on their contribution to, involvement in, and/or impact on the GLBTQ* populations in the general community. This award also recognizes a faculty/staff member who has helped students achieve the goals associated with the values and mission of the Pride Resource Center (ex: education, affirmation of one’s self, welcoming and safe environments, support and resources, etc). We welcome nominations of those who have often worked behind the scenes!

United: Not Divided Award- 2020 Recipient: Rob Haggar
This award recognizes an undergraduate or graduate student who has broken down stereotypes, myths, and/or prejudice, and instead created or repaired bridges of understanding. Characteristics of nominees include, but are not limited to: demonstrating commitment to academic success, equity, diversity, fairness, conflict resolution/mediation, understanding of differences, and teamwork.

Shining Star Award- 2020 Recipient: Mo Lundin
This award is given to one undergraduate student (first through third year) who demonstrates great academic achievement by having a cumulative GPA of at least 3.00. This individual initiates character development through program involvement and demonstrates great leadership. The Shining Star Undergraduate Award recognizes an individual who impacts university life and demonstrates a high standard of values through their actions.

Morris Price Jr. Outstanding Alumni Award- 2020 Recipient: Monica Rivera
This award is given to an LGBTQ+ or Allied alumni of Colorado State University who has continued building relationships with the LGBTQ+ community at CSU. Nominees should demonstrate the following characteristics or actions: continued work in the LGBTQ+ communities, support of the Pride Resource Center, passion for social justice and inclusion, and a commitment to being a visible advocate for LGBTQ+ local communities.