Safe Zone

The purpose of a Safe Zone program is to reduce homophobia and heterosexism at CSU, thereby making our campuses a safer environment for all members of our community regardless of sexual orientation or gender identity.  The Safe Zone program prepares members of the CSU community to serve as a resource on LGBTQ issues, and also strives to educate the organization about the Safe Zone program.

Through the Safe Zone training, participants will:

  • Gain new knowledge about issues facing LGBTQ students at CSU.
  • Gain new knowledge about resources to support LGBTQ students at CSU.
  • Experience speaking on LGBT issues with the intent of building familiarity with those conversations.
  • Gain knowledge in how to best support LGBTQ students.

Available Dates

Thursday, 28 September 2017, 2:00-5:00 p.m.
Lory Student Center Room, 226-228

Wednesday, 25 October 2017, 9:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m.
Lory Student Center, Room 226-228
*Open to Students

Tuesday, 21 November 2017, 2:00-5:00 p.m.
Lory Student Center, Room 226-228

Wednesday, 13 December 2017, 2:00-5:00 p.m.
Lory Student Center, Room 372-374

Thursday, 11 January 2018, 9:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m.
Lory Student Center, Room 226-228

Wednesday, 31 January 2018, 9:00-12:00 p.m.
Lory Student Center, Room 226-228
*Open to Students

Wednesday, 28 February 2018, 2:00-5:00 p.m.
Lory Student Center, Room 226-228

Monday, 12 March 2018, 9:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m.
Lory Student Center, Room 226-228

Thursday, 29 March 2018, 2:00-5:00 p.m.
Lory Student Center, Room 226-228
*Open to Students

Wednesday, 25 April 2018, 9:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m.
Lory Student Center, Room 226-228

*Locations TBD
**Target audience: CSU staff and faculty; students welcome where noted.

 

For questions, please email glbt_studentservices@mail.colostate.edu or call the Assistant Director, Emily Ambrose, at (970) 491-1530.